E-mail, 1 July 2013

Still at the MTC. Still. Yeesh. I went by the travel office today and they said they have NO IDEA what’s going on or when the visas will come, so the three of us french sisters are still here. Our entire district left last Tuesday, so we had to be moved into a new district. Our new district is a french speaking district- it’s the islander french district. There are four Elders going to the West Indies and two Sisters going to New Caledonia. I was a little bummed about the visas not coming, but I LOVE our new district! We have class in french, we speak French with each other, we get to work with a language program that the church created, and we even have French investigators to teach! The unfortunate part about my new district is this: Because there are so many missionaries in the MTC now, they have to spread the meal times out. We got the short end of the stick. We have breakfast at 6:30… as in we have to get up at 5:30. We have lunch at 11:00 and dinner at 4:00. It’s just about the craziest schedule ever. But the district is great and I’m happy to be here (even if I was supposed to be in France by now).
Because our visas haven’t come, I get to be a host on Wednesday. A host is the person that meets you at the car, takes your suitcases, drags you away from your crying mother, walks you to your dorm, helps you get your books, and takes you to meet your district. I’m pretty excited about getting to do that. The other Elders and Sisters in my district have hosted before and they said it’s a lot of fun!
The Fourth of July is this Thursday, and from what I’ve heard, we either get to watch a broadcast of fireworks, or we get to sit out on the campus and watch the fireworks from the Stadium. So, that’ll be a fun break!
It’s kind of fun to still be at the MTC, beacuse so many people I know are here! Shalysse Bennett and Sarah Nicholas got here last Wednesday and there are over 10 Elders and Sisters here from my BYU ward.
My companion and I are teaching two new progressing investigators in French. Their names are Stephanie and Jean. And even though they’re our teachers, it seems real when you’re actually in the lesson. Stephanie doesn’t have any sort of belief in God whatsoever, so we’ve had to start at the very beginning with her. She’s 17, and we have to explain every principle very simply, but thoroughly. So, I’m learning to become a more patient teacher.
Jean is a Catholic with 5 kids. We taught him the Restoration on Saturday. We used a set of pictures that I made out of pictures torn from The Restoration pamphlet to explain how The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is the same church that Christ set up while he was on the Earth. He seemed really interested and invited us back tonight.
When I moved into my new district, I learned that they had a goal to spend half an hour reading the Book of Mormon in French a day. I took up this challenge and started reading in French during my personal study. (In my old district, we had to read in English because it was an English speaking class). I’ve been doing it for about 5 days now and I’ve finished 1 Nephi! It’s slow going, because I have to look up words a lot, but it’s really fun and interesting to read the Book of Mormon stories in French. Having to try so hard to understand lets me get a lot more out of it that I would if I was just flying through it in English.
Our Tuesday night devotional was given by Janice Kapp Perry and her adorable husband. They were so fun and cute! The devotional was great! Our Relief Society lesson yesterday was taught by Sheri Dew. SHE IS AWESOME.

Her lesson was so powerful. She taught a lot about the power and worth of the Sister missionaries.
We got to watch Legacy for movie night last night, which was fun.
Honestly, I’m trying to come up with more intersting things to tell you, but here at the MTC, every day is pretty much the same:
I wake up at 5:30, have breakfast at 6:30, and personal study at 7:00. Class starts at 8:00 and goes until 11:00, when we have lunch. At 11:45, we have companion study, or language study, or TALL (our computer language program) time until 4 when we have dinner. We have class again from 4:45 to 7:45. Then language study and planning from 7:45 to 9:30 at which point we go home and collapse into our bunk beds in our tiny room. There’s not much change. When I get to France, I promise to have a lot of exciting tales to tell!
Je vous aime et je vous manque!
Avec amour,
Soeur Jones 🙂
Leave a Reply

