I’ve been on a train for my entire life

[Note: I’ve created a photo tab (above). This morning Jordan sent some photos taken of her contacting in the town square.]

Bonjour tout le monde!

 So this week was kind of crazy because we had TWO exchanges right in a row! On Wednesday, we did an exchange with the sisters from Dijon and I worked with Soeur Carvalho who is from Portugal and in her first transfer! She told me, <<Okay, don’t be creeped out, but I read your mission blog ALL the time before I came out!>> So, basically what I got out of that is I’M FAMOUS. My blog has reached Portugal. Soeur Carvalho and I stayed and worked in Chalon, and we taught an entire lesson in Portugese. I had NO clue what was going on! The other Soeurs here in Chalon have a family of investigators from Angola who speak ONLY Portugese, no french. So, we decided to take advantage of having Soeur Carvalho here and so, I would say things in english and then Soeur Carvalho would translate them into Portugese. It was crazy town.
 
Our second exchange was in Switzerland! La Suisse is BEAUTIFUL. It was a LOOONG train ride (about 5 hours), but one of the prettier train rides I’ve taken. We did an exchange with the Soeurs in Renens (which is close to Lausanne, where they decided the Olympics will be held). I worked with Soeur Hoar who is from England, close to Birmingham. American missionaries currently can’t work in Switzerland, so it is all foreign missionaries there. We stayed in apartment with one Soeur from England, one from Italy, and two from Germany. So that was fun. Also, I enjoyed working with Soeur Hoar because she has a super cool accent that I got to listen to all day. It was a constant struggle to not just answer her back in my best fake British accent. So, we spent all day Friday and Saturday in Suisse, which was fun, but also a bummer because we were out of our area for two days this week.
 
But really the most important thing is: I FINALLY GOT SWISS CHOCOLATE. And yes, it is as good as everyone says it is.
 
So funny story: last time we went to Switzerland, we forgot our passports, which could potentially be REALLY bad. Luckily last time, they never checked our passports. This time however, when we crossed the French/Suisse border, border control came around looking for <<les voyageurs salé>> or “dirty riders”. HAHA. We, luckily, remembered our passports this time so all was well. We saw them haul off this one guy and they were yelling at him in french (which is way more terrifying than being yelled at in english). I was grateful that that wasn’t us.
 
Yesterday was Soeur Christensen’s 20th birthday. Her birthday package from her family came this week conveniently while she was on exchange in Dijon, which I then hid. She went the whole week thinking her package never came and then freaked out when we pulled it out Sunday morning. Per her request, I made her a cheesecake! We had church yesterday morning and then went to the Miller’s for birthday lunch. And then we weekly planned. Then, in the evening, we ate cheesecake and ice cream and sang JOYEUX ANNIVERSAIRE at the top of our lungs. So, all in all it was a very good day.
 
Image
 
20th birthday cake!
Image
L’église!
 
So this is the last week of the transfer! YIKES! Can you believe I’ve been in Chalon for five weeks now? We get transfer calls THIS FRIDAY!!! I’m not entirely freaking out yet, but I’m freaking out a little. So, the point is, I wouldn’t send any mail this week, because I may or may not be here next Monday!
 
Passez une bonne semaine!
 
Avec amour,
 
Soeur Jones
One thought on “I’ve been on a train for my entire life

  1. Dear Soeur Jones, Tuesday, October 22, 2013
    What a lovely week you have had…..2 trips to Switzerland…..an opportunity to listen to the English language as it was meant to be spoken….observed a “dirty man” being collarded by the law….and partaking of Swiss chocolate. You are a lucky girl!

    Nothing much happening here. The US govt is again up and functioning, at least for the next month or so, BYU beat U of Hou, but only slightly, and Halloween is only 9 days away. I can tell you that I am looking forward to little tastes of good old American chocolate….Hersheys, Twix, Snickers, and Butterfingers.

    One of the young men missionaries from our ward returned home early from the Canadian Mission field several weeks ago. It seems he sufferes from severe depression and was no longer able to continue. It was very sad for his family and for the rest of our ward. His father spoke in testimony meeting and reminded us of Bro Holland’s comments during conference on his own dark experiences when he was a young man. It gave this father some peace concerning his son. May the Lord bless you and protect you and keep your strong in the coming weeks and months. I know that your souers are thankful for your cheerful, positive attitude. Have a happy and productive week….Much love, Aunt Rebecca

Leave a Reply

