Birthdays on birthdays

Bonjour tout le monde!

 
This week was full of really fun days! 
Valentine’s Day was on Friday, then Soeur Hills’ birthday on Saturday and Soeur Brimhall’s birthday on Sunday. So basically, we were partying all week long! 
 
On Monday, we finally got around to doing a little shopping, and then had dinner with a really cool young family in the ward. They both served English speaking missions, so it was fun to trade around mission stories. This dinner made me sure that I will be one of those returned missionaries who talks WAY too much about their mission. And everyone will be so annoyed. Except maybe my mom. 
 
We are still doing quite a bit of finding here in Toulouse. We have a few amis that we are teaching, like Khadidja, our ami from Martinique. She was taught by missionaries about a year ago, but wasn’t ready to be baptized, so she dropped them. Now, she’s started seeing us again, but has a few fears as far as coming to church and being baptized. But she’s really great! So we hope to have her progressing this week!
 
We were also able to go and do some service for the family Sordes this week. Cleaning. They are remodeling their house, so they have a bunch of moving of furniture and cleaning to do, and we spent some time helping them. They rewarded us with crêpes. I’m not sure if I’ve already rhapsodized about French crêpes yet, but they are TO DIE FOR. The classic french dessert crêpe has lemon juice and sugar inside. It’s a VERY yummy combination. 
 
On Valentine’s Day, I opened some presents from the fam. I felt very loved:)
 
The next day was Soeur Hills’ birthday. She wanted a cheesecake, so I made her a cheesecake with Speculoos crust. YUM. We decorated her desk with little cards and notes and it was VERY fun. Anything that makes the day a little special is VERY fun. 
 Image
 
Yesterday was Soeur Brimhall’s 20th birthday, so we got her some treats and I made another cheesecake (’cause everyone needs their OWN birthday cheesecake) and we had happy birthday dinner last night.
 
I also read a really good talk this week by Elder Scott. It’s called “The Power of Scriptures.” He says, “The scriptures provide the strength of authority to our declarations when they are cited correctly. They can become stalwart friends that are not limited by geography or calendar. They are always available when needed. Learning, pondering, searching, and memorizing scriptures is like filling a filing cabinet with friends, values, and truths that can be called upon anytime, anywhere in the world. Great power can come from memorizing scriptures. To memorize a scripture is to form a new friendship. It is like discovering a new individual who can help in time of need, give inspiration and comfort, and be a source of motiviation for needed change.”
I liked what he said about scriptures being our friends, especially when we take the time to ponder, learn, search, and MEMORIZE them. I could always use some more friends, so I set a goal for myself that by the end of the next transfer, I will have memorized: 
1 John 4: 7-12
Psalms 27:1
2 Nephi 7:11
Alma 42:31
D&C 6: 34,36
D&C 87:5
So. I have my work cut out for me. 
 
ImageImage
 
I hope everyone had an equally great week as me!
Time is FLYING! We only have two weeks left in this transfer!
 
I love and miss you all!
Je vous aime et vous me manquez!
 
Avec amour, 
 
Soeur Jones

 

Leave a Reply

