Joyeuses Pâques!

Joyeuses Pâques everyone! I hope your Easter was great!

 
Ours was interesting! We had church yesterday but not one dang person talked about Easter the whole three hours! I was distraught. Though I did give a talk in sacrament meeting and I was like, “HELLO PEOPLE! IT’S EASTER! Let us give some thought to this holiday about Jesus!” But… not in so many words. Soeur Cherry and I had chili for Easter dinner and we dyed Easter eggs! I want to attach some pictures, but I have… misplaced… my camera cord for the moment. So… next week? Cool.
 
This week was great! It started off with TWO packages, so I was thrilled! Thanks family! And thanks to the Wilder family also! I felt so loved this week! The packages totally made up for our ward forgetting that it was Easter!
 
So, at the beginning of the week, we were at the STL’s (Sister Training Leaders’) apartment and the lighting fixture in their main room came crashing to the ground. Don’t worry, no one was hurt. But then we had a problem… we had to replace the light. The other sisters were like, “It’s fine, we’ll just call the Elders and they can come fix it.” Then I said, “NON! We can fix this light! We are not incapable people!” So I called around and marched us down to the nearest Frenchie Home Depot-like store and I bought us a new light and some screws and special things to get the screws to stay in a plaster ceiling. NO PROBLEM. Then… we got back to the apartment. I was able to attach the wires and everything, but I had a hard time getting the danged thing in the ceiling because we didn’t have an electric screwdriver. In the end, we had to have a set of Elders come and hammer some holes into the ceiling so that I could get it in there. But that was minimal help! WE REPLACED THAT LIGHT FIXTURE!!! So there.
 
We spent the rest of the week getting Soeur Cherry accustomed to working in Eysines, visiting members and less actives. We spent a lot of time trying to find new amis also. The work is a little slow here right now. We’re trying to pick it back up! 
 
This next week we have zone training, so I am pretty excited to see all of our friends from the zone!  
 
In light of Easter which just passed, I’ll share with you a little bit of my talk that I gave yesterday in sacrament meeting:
 
Aujourd’hui, especialement, nous célébrons cet amour et la resurrection du Christ.
 
Just kidding. I’ll tell you in English:
 
Today (Easter), especially, we celebrate the love that Christ has for us and his resurrection. But how can we show our gratitude for his love and his sacrifice all the days of our lives? Christ himself gave us the answer in John 21: Jesus said to Simon Peter: Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me? Peter responded, yes Lord, thou knowest that I love thee. Jesus said, Feed my sheep. (Paraphrased). 
In his talk, Bring unto me Souls, in the 2009 General Conference, Elder L. Tom Perry points out that, while Jesus Christ is the good shepherd, we also, as members of the church, are shepherds called to His service. How are we shepherds? We are shepherds because it is our duty to find those around us who are lost and bring them back to the fold of God. Elder Perry said, “The full-time missionairies will certainly continue to do their best, but wouldn’t it be better if you and I were ready to accomplish this work that is legitimatley ours and for which we are better equiped because we personally know the people that are lost and need help?” Shepherds know their sheep well. Similarly, you  know well the people of your acquaintance who are in a good place to accept the gospel. Have the courage to “open your mouth” and go in search of the ones who are lost.
 
I wish you luck in all your missionary endeavors:)
 
Avec amour,
 
Soeur Jones
Leave a Reply

