Transfer 9!!

E-mail dated May 26th.

Bonjour tout le monde!

Today marks the first day of my ninth transfer, which I will be spending in Bordeaux with Soeur Cherry. No changes here. We are excited for this transfer and hope to see some cool miracles! 
 
This week wasn’t super intersting. On Tuesday, Soeur Cherry and I traveled to Mont de Marsan to start my legality process. We got in at about 10:30 after taking the EARLIEST possible train out of Bordeaux. The legality office closes for lunch at 11:45, so we were already pressed for time. Then, when we got there, we realized that my packet was missing several important photocopies that I needed. So, a really nice member couple came and picked us up from the Prefecture and took us to the church to make the photocopies. Unfortunately, by the time we got that done, the Prefecture was closed for lunch. So, the members invited us over and fed us lunch and took us back to the Prefecture two hours later when it reopened. When we walked in, one of the workers told me that they only serve international relations in the morning. So… all that and I didn’t even get my legality started. And it rained the whole day. It was a major bummer. We’ll have to go back and try again this week. yeesh.
 
On Wednesday, we had our district meeting. We reviewed all of Elder Andersen’s talks from the last three General Conferences. The mission is so hyped about Elder Andersen coming! We are so excited for the opportunity to get to see him as a mission! Especially because he served his mission here and was the mission president in the Bordeaux mission! So, it’s a special opportunity to hear from an Apostle of the Lord who has a special love for this country and the people here. 
I made lunch for our district like normal- we had tortilla soup and apple cake with caramel sauce that I learned to make when I was in Chalon. It was a hit!
There won’t be many changes in our district this transfer. Both Soeur Cherry and I are staying, the zone leaders are staying and only our district leader is moving. Elder Yeung is being replaced by Elder Yang. We all laughed a little when we heard that. 
 
We are still working hard to find new investigators! And we’ve set some good goals for this transfer that will help us to be really consecrated so we can see some really cool miracles! I found a quote this week from Elder Neal A. Maxwell that I really liked. He said, “Consecration is the only surrender which is also a victory.” 
 
Yesterday was La Fete des Mères (Mother’s Day) in France. We sang a special musical number in sacrament meeting with the young men and young women to celebrate. Then, our ward gave all the mothers roses. It was nice! 
 
This next week should be fun. We will be traveling to Mont de Marsan again on Wednesday, and doing a LOT of street contacting and street boarding. Wish us luck! (More like, pray for God to bless us). 
 
Have a great week everyone! 
 
Avec Amour,
 
Soeur Jones

Leave a comment