Reunited!

Yesterday, as we took the bus and arrived at the Ecully chapel, I had major déjà vu. It reminded me of my very second day in France, over one year ago. I took the same bus and arrived in front of the same small chapel. And I had laughed at the strange 70’s era light fixtures in the chapel, was totally freaked out by everyone who was kissing my face, and I hadn’t understand ANYTHING.
 
The 70’s light fixures are still there. And everyone was still kissing my face. But I understood everyone! That’s progress people!
 

As I stood by the doors to the chapel, greeting members, I wanted to cry as a good majority of them said, “Sister Jones???? You’re back??? We’re so happy to see you!!!”

The night before, I was a little worried thinking, “What if NO ONE remembers me? I’ll be so sad.” But my worries were for nothing (as most of my worries are) because I was able to see and talk to many many families and members who I love and who loved and helped me so much at the beginning of my mission. And they REMEMBERED me. It was a special cheesy moment.

Being back in Lyon, I’ve found that I actually remember a lot more about the ville and the members than I originally thought. I’ve been able to lead us around without getting us lost too many times:)

This week I was able to meet some of our amazing amis and recent converts including:

Eliette. Eliette is an 82-year-old French woman. She met the missionaires about 5 months ago and has been taught ever since. She’s preparing to be baptized in about 5 weeks. She loves history and art and literature. She’s a fierce mami.

Veronique. Veronique is about 35 and French. She met the missionaires about 5 years ago in Lyon, but wasn’t interested in learning more after a couple of lessons. Recently, Veronique found herself at a point in her life where she was looking for something more. She remembered the sister missionaries and set out to find us again. She found the old telephone number that she had for the sisters and called it. She ended up getting some Elders in another ville, who connected her with the Val de Saône sisters. She’s been taught for about 3 weeks now. In those three weeks, she’s managed to go from smoking 30 cigarettes per day to 4. She’s preparing for her baptism on the 27th of September.

Diogene. Diogene was baptized about a month and a half ago. He’s 18 and from Congo. He wants to serve a mission, so he teaches a lot with us and he’s a natural!

Anyways, so this week was basically great. It’s so fun to be back in Lyon!

I hope everyone has a good start to the school year!

Avec amour,
Soeur Jones

One thought on “Reunited!

  1. How lovely to feel your sweet spirit again! I am happy that you are well enough physically and emotionally to complete your mission in France. This mission that you are serving will be a part of you and your family for the rest of your life. I still consider Steven my sweet little missionary. His mission influences us today. We love and miss you. We are expecting your mother and Madison on Thursday…. will be lovely to see them. Have a happy week! Aunt Rebecca

Leave a Reply

