Seven weeks to go!

Bonjour tout le monde!

This week was good! We started out with an exchange with the sisters in Saint Etienne. That was fun! I went to Saint Etienne for the day with Soeur Pape and we had a great time! Saint Etienne is booming with miracles! We had a great day!

We were also in Saint Etienne for our district meeting on Thursday. I made chicken tortilla soup- it’s a favorite. Everyone always requests that. This week, for district meeting I’m making a traditional french dish called Tartiflette. I’ll let you know how it goes next Monday.

Speaking of next Monday, I start my last transfer OF MY MISSION next Monday. I’m freaking out a little. We have transfer calls this Friday and I’m already getting anxiety about it. I have no clue what will happen! Though I’m pretty sure I’ll stay here in Lyon.

OH! Here’s an exciting thing- there was a stake priesthood meeting at our chapel on Saturday, and we were there at the chapel teaching a lesson at the same time as the meeting. And guess who was there? Laurent! It’s the first time I’ve seen him since I left Chalon! He’s doing great and his mission papers are almost done! He will be sending them in next week! He was really excited to see me and he updated me on all the goings on in Chalon. Things sound like they’re great! So that was a fun moment!

Our ami Dan, who is the best friend of our recent convert has a baptismal date! YAYYY!!!!! He’s started reading the Book of Mormon and he’s really progressing! He’s been to church the last 4 weeks in a row. He asks lots of good questions and takes everything to the Lord. We’re hoping for an October baptism!

We had a pretty fun movie night last night at the institute. We watched 17 Miracles. All the missionaries in Lyon were there plus their amis/recent converts/ less actives/ members. It was funny because it isn’t dubbed in French, there are only french subtitles. So we watched it in English with french subtitles and the french translation was….really funny.

In other news, I’ve mostly forgotten how to speak about gospel subjects in English. On exchange in Saint Etienne, Soeur Pape and I taught their ami from Nigeria… in english. It was laughable how hard of a time I had. Even saying the prayer was a huge struggle…. I’m worried for my future… I kept blanking on the english words for things and saying english words in french grammar construction… it was super awkward.

Well. I can’t believe it’s week 6 already! Wish us luck!

avec amour,

Soeur jones

Leave a Reply

